Scott McLaughlin

Driver, No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Career Highlights

  • 2018 & 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Champion
  • 2019 Bathurst 1000 Winner
  • 2nd, 2017 Supercars Championship
  • 3rd, 2016 Supercars Championship
  • Two-time Barry Sheene Medalist
  • Youngest ever Supercars Race Winner (2013)
  • 2013 Mike Kable Young Gun Award Winner
  • 2012 Dunlop Super2 Champion
  • 2012 NZ SuperTourer Champion

Scott McLaughlin made his racing debut at eight, progressing through the NZ and Australian Karting scenes before being given a test in a Stone Brothers Racing Supercar.

The Stones spotted the potential in the young McLaughlin, taking the decision to promote him straight into the 2010 Supercars Dunlop Super2 Series at just 16 years’ of age.

2012 was a breakout year for Scott, competing in – and winning – both the Supercars Dunlop Series in Australia and the New Zealand V8 Super Tourer series. He also made his ‘main-game’ Supercar debut the same year, partnering Jonathon Webb at Tekno in both the Sandown 500 and Bathurst 1000.

It was at the 2012 Sydney 500 that he got his ‘big break’, replacing the ill Alex Premat at Garry Rogers Motorsport for the final race of the season. He finished in 17th place after starting at the rear of the grid, and it was this performance that earned Scott a fulltime drive at GRM for the 2013 season.

Scott went onto become the youngest ever winner of a Supercars race when he won at Pukekohe Park Raceway in front of an adoring home crowd, ending the year 10th in the Championship to win the Mike Kable Young Gun Award that recognises rookie of the year.

2014 brought the new challenge of a manufacturer switch, as GRM represented Volvo’s return to Australian motorsport. He began the season in sensational style, qualifying on the front row at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide, claiming a memorable second behind Craig Lowndes on the Saturday after an intense battle with six-time Champion Jamie Whincup. The season only got better from there, with five race wins, multiple podium finishes and 10 pole positions, topped off with the Barry Sheene Medal for Supercars’ best and fairest.

A character building year followed in 2015 for Scott, with recurrent reliability issues putting paid to a genuine Championship challenge. All of that would change in 2016, as he put together his best season to date, where he would finish 3rd behind only Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup, taking his second Barry Sheene Medal in the process.

The fast Kiwi made the move to DJR Team Penske for the 2017 season, joining his compatriot Fabian Coulthard in one of the most exciting and promising combinations in the sport.

He had an incredible season, taking eight wins and a record-breaking 16 pole positions on his way to a career best second in the Drivers’ Championship.

He headed into the 2018 season brimming with confidence, and keen to continue the enormous momentum that built behind him in 2017.

Whilst at times he didn’t have the fastest car, through sheer grit and ability he ground out a sensational year of results that included 21 podiums, 13 pole positions and nine race wins. This culminated in McLaughlin taking his first Drivers’ title, at the age of 25.

In 2019, he started his title defense in utterly dominating style, earning five of the first six race wins, alongside four pole positions his in brand new Ford Mustang GT.

McLaughlin went on to set a season-record 18 wins, including his first Bathurst 1000 victory alongside Alex Premat. His dominance was such that it is unlikely we will ever see a season like it ever again.