GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA – [SEPTEMBER 5, 2018] – Shell V-Power Racing Team will celebrate the 30th anniversary of Dick Johnson’s 1988 Australian Touring Car Championship at the opening round of the Pirtek Enduro Cup, the Sandown 500 ‘Retro Round’, with a special livery in tribute of the famous Shell Ultra-Hi Racing Ford Sierra RS500 Cosworth.

Both Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard’s Shell V-Power Fords will race in a special one-off, all-red livery reminiscent of the famous colours of Dick Johnson Racing in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

The 1988 season was a particularly dominant one for Dick Johnson Racing, with Johnson and his then teammate John Bowe taking victory in eight of the nine rounds. It was Johnson’s fourth Australian Touring Car title, with Bowe finishing second in the points for a Shell 1-2.

Johnson, now co-owner of the front-running Virgin Australia Supercars outfit Shell V-Power Racing Team, has fond memories of that era.

“Those Sierras were the best Touring Cars on the planet, and we were completely and totally on top of our game,” said Johnson.

“Seeing that classic livery on these cars is very special and brings back many great memories. It’s hard to believe it’s been 30 years, but amazing to relive those fantastic times and see that livery back on track.

“Hopefully we can be as successful at Sandown as we were throughout the ’88 season.”

Shell V-Power Racing Team will compete in the Sandown 500 at Sandown International Raceway across the weekend of September 14-16.