Unchanged Driver Line-up 30 Years In The Making

Unchanged Driver Line-up 30 Years In The Making

For the first time in over 30 years, the Shell V-Power Racing Team heads into a new season with the same line-up across its primary and co-drivers.

Not since becoming a two-car team in 1987 has Dick Johnson Racing/DJR Team Penske maintained the same four drivers across the Championship and Pirtek Enduro Cup.

For the 2018 Pirtek Enduro Cup, Fabian Coulthard will once again be partnered with 2007 Super2 Champion Tony D’Alberto, who in 2018 will celebrate his third year co-driving with Shell V-Power Racing Team.

Coulthard and D’Alberto will be looking to improve on their third place in the 2017 Bathurst 1000 and runner-up position in the Pirtek Enduro Cup standings.

Scott McLaughlin will again be joined by US-based Frenchman Alex Prémat, continuing a successful relationship that saw them take a podium at the Sandown 500 and a victory in the Gold Coast 600 last season.

Coulthard is pleased to have D’Alberto back in the car for the Pirtek Enduro Cup after his performance in 2017.

“Tony is a talented, dependable co-driver – a guy that is level-headed, reliable and knows what he needs to do as a part of the Shell V-Power Racing Team. I’m pumped to have him back with me this year, and hope we can improve on our 2017 effort,” Coulthard said.

D’Alberto, who debuted alongside Coulthard at the 2005 Bathurst 1000, said he is excited to again be a part of the Shell V-Power squad.

“Being a part of this team’s driver line-up is something that I’m very proud of. Knowing that you have the very best equipment and team around you is extremely exciting as a driver, so to be getting my third opportunity to drive for them is fantastic. Now we just need to hit fast forward so it’s time for the Pirtek Enduro Cup,” said D’Alberto.

McLaughlin said he is extremely happy to have Prémat alongside him for the endurance races this season.

“Alex is a good mate, and a known quantity in Supercars racing. I’ve known him for many years, and have driven with him across the Pirtek Enduro Cup for most of my full-time career. His drive on the Gold Coast last year set us up for that sensational win coming from 13th on the grid. Hopefully we can take the big one at Bathurst together,” McLaughlin said.

Prémat was equally confident in his return to Shell V-Power Racing Team, alongside McLaughlin in the No.17.

“Being a part of Shell V-Power Racing Team in 2017 was fantastic, and I am very proud to be a part of such a professional organisation. Scott and I want to put our stamp on Bathurst history, and take victory in the Pirtek Enduro Cup,” said Prémat.

Shell V-Power Racing Team’s line-up will appear throughout the 2018 Pirtek Enduro Cup, encompassing the Sandown 500, Bathurst 1000 and Gold Coast 600.