9 Jul 2017


Fabian Coulthard - No. 12 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Qualifying – 12th (Fastest Lap: 1m12.5586s)
Race 14 – 21st (Fastest Lap: 1m13.4567s)

RECAP: Coulthard got pushed down the order off the start after qualifying 12th. He was involved in an early incident, which saw him take a 15sec time penalty at his first stop. He lost a lap as a result, and then had to push hard from the rear of the field. He got the lap back, only to lose it again at his second pit stop. He got to p21 at the end of the race, and continues to sit third in the championship.

QUOTE: “It’s been a weekend to forget, that’s for sure. We tried our hardest to get on top of the car, but we just couldn’t manage it. Great weekend for Scott, a dream run. Work to do on our side of the garage, but we’ll look to come back stronger at the next race. I’ve been in far worse positions than this previously, so we’ll bounce back.”

Scott McLaughlin - No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford 


Qualifying – FIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m12.0731s (New Lap Record)
Top 10 Shootout – FIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m11.990s (New Lap Record)
Race 14 – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m12.9522s (Under Old Race Lap Record)


RECAP: McLaughlin was dominant in qualifying again today, starting the race from pole position. He kept the race lead until the first round of pit stops when he took more fuel than Whincup, with a 2s gap maintained across most of the next stint. Whincup was then able to maintain the lead after the second round of stops. McLaughlin pushed hard, and despite the handicap of a cool suit failure, finished only 1.4s behind Whincup for a solid second place at the end of the 200km affair. He leaves Townsville having taken another two pole positions, a race win and a podium alongside the championship lead. 

QUOTE: “I lost my cool suit at the end of the race there, which was tough. But well done to Jamie, it was only a matter of time that he was going to win a race. Thanks to all my guys at Shell V-Power Racing, great to get another podium and continue the consistency.”


1. Scott McLaughlin 1608
2. Jamie Whincup 1602
3. Fabian Coulthard 1450
4. Shane Van Gisbergen 1377
5. Chaz Mostert 1257
6. Mark Winterbottom 1173
7. Craig Lowndes 1104
8. Garth Tander 1080
9. Cameron Waters 1063
10. David Reynolds 1059


1. Shell V-Power Racing Team 3093
2. Triple Eight Race Engineering (Whincup/Van Gisbergen) 2979
3. Prodrive Racing Australia (Winterbottom/Waters) 2271
4. Garry Rogers Motorsport 1968
5. Erebus Motorsport 1560
6. Brad Jones Racing 1449
7. Walkinshaw Racing 1440
8. Nissan Motorsport (R. Kelly/T. Kelly) 1413
9. Nissan NISMO (Caruso/De Silvestro) 1329
10. Prodrive Racing Australia (Mostert) 1257