18 Jun 2017


Fabian Coulthard - No. 12 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Qualifying – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m05.8231s)
Top 10 Shootout – 4th (Fastest Lap: 1m06.2302s)
Race 12 – 4th (Fastest Lap: 1m06.7807s - Under Old Lap Record)

RECAP: Coulthard started the race from fourth place, and took a similar strategy to Saturday with an early stop. He pushed hard on his out laps, and jumped his rivals however the pace had taken the edge off his tyres and he was unable to hold the lead. He then ran a championship drive, maintaining his position under intense pressure from rivals. He continues to lead the championship, now by 10 points from teammate McLaughlin.  

QUOTE: “I just didn’t quite have the pace today, so was pleased to hang on to that fourth place. Today was all about championship points. I came in to this weekend with a four point lead, and it’s now 10 so I’ve got to take that positive. When fourth is a bad day, it's not too bad at all. It was great to get the win yesterday, and fantastic to see Scott win today. We’re one-two in the points, so it’s awesome for the team. We’ll come back better at the next one.”

Scott McLaughlin - No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

QualifyingFIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m05.6806s)
Top 10 ShootoutFIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m05.7233s)
Race 12FIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m06.6747s - New Lap Record)

RECAP: McLaughlin was fast all day, taking provisional pole, and then pole position in the Top 10 Shootout by over three-tenths of a second. He then dominated much of the race to take the win. He had a poor start, but worked hard to recover. He jumped Whincup in the pit stops, reset the lap record and then maintained the gap to take his fourth win of the 2017 season, elevating himself to second in the points behind Coulthard.  

QUOTE: “What an awesome team I’ve got here behind me at the Shell V-Power Racing Team. I was so stoked to get pole earlier today in the Shootout - I love qualifying as it’s everyone’s maximum. Everything they’ve got. I didn’t get a great start today, but good strategy helped me get it back. I drove as hard as I could, and we got the win. I couldn’t be happier.” 

1 Fabian Coulthard 1330
2 Scott McLaughlin 1320
3 Jamie Whincup 1314
4 Shane van Gisbergen 1152
5 Chaz Mostert 1026
6 Mark Winterbottom 924
7 Craig Lowndes 924
8 David Reynolds 903
9 Cameron Waters 889
10 Garth Tander 888
1 Shell V-Power Racing Team 2685
2 Triple Eight Race Engineering (Van Gisbergen/Whincup) 2466
3 Prodrive Racing Australia (Winterbottom/Waters) 1848
4 Garry Rogers Motorsport 1614
5 Brad Jones Racing 1314
6 Erebus Motorsport 1308
7 Nissan Motorsport (R. Kelly/T. Kelly) 1236
8 HSV Racing 1206
9 Nissan NISMO (Caruso/De Silvestro) 1116
10 Prodrive Racing Australia (Mostert) 1026