20 Aug 2017


Fabian Coulthard - No. 12 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Qualifying – 5th (Fastest Lap: 1m28.7702s)

Race 18 – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m30.2597s (Under old lap record)


RECAP: Coulthard again demonstrated his racing ability today at Sydney Motorsport Park, after finishing second in today’s 200km, 52 lap race. After qualifying 5th, he had a blinding start that nearly catapulted him into the cars in front. He settled into 4th, and then took more fuel than other cars at his first stop. That sacrificed track position early, but that came back to him when his second stop was only six-seconds. He then drove up to and passed teammate McLaughlin for third, before passing Shane van Gisbergen to take second place, and his second podium of the weekend after victory yesterday. He is now 107 points behind McLaughlin in third place in the Championship.


QUOTE: “The car was good, thanks to the Shell V-Power Racing Team. It’s always a very good race car. After the last few rounds, it’s great to get back on the podium, get the win yesterday and close the points gap in the process. It’s great to head into the Pirtek Enduro Cup with some momentum, I’m really looking forward to it.”


Scott McLaughlin - No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

QualifyingFIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m28.2259s (New Lap Record)

Race 18 – 4th (Fastest Lap: 1m30.3837s (Under old lap record)

RECAP: McLaughlin was again the master of qualifying, earning his 13th pole of 2017, and his seventh in a row in qualifying this morning - taking the double for the weekend. He got a slow start in the 200km race, before settling into 5th place for the opening stint of the race. He pitted early, and gained track position and then stayed third across a safety car and second pit stop. He went with Coulthard after the late race pass, very nearly stealing third place from Van Gisbergen down the start finish straight, to be fourth by only one-tenth of a second.

QUOTE: “I need to work on my starts, they’re my biggest issue right now. Fourth isn’t a bad day overall, but we’re disappointed. Congrats to Fabian, great to see him back on the podium again. I’m disappointed I couldn’t join him, and I thought I could get Van Gisbergen. We went close, but not quite. At the end we still have the orange stickers, still lead the Championship and the team is strong leading into the Pirtek Enduro Cup.”




1. Scott McLaughlin 2058
2. Jamie Whincup 2046
3. Fabian Coulthard 1951
4. Shane van Gisbergen 1800
5. Chaz Mostert 1794
6. Mark Winterbottom 1503
7. Craig Lowndes 1446
8. David Reynolds 1395
9. Garth Tander 1368
10. Cameron Waters 1264
1. Shell V-Power Racing Team 4044
2. Triple Eight Race Engineering (Whincup/Van Gisbergen) 3846
3. Prodrive Racing Australia (Winterbottom/Waters) 2802
4. Garry Rogers Motorsport 2403
5. Brad Jones Racing 2034
6. Erebus Motorsport 2028
7. Walkinshaw Racing 1944
8. Nissan Motorsport (R. Kelly/T. Kelly) 1914
9. Prodrive Racing Australia (Mostert) 1794
10. Nissan NISMO (Caruso/De Silvestro) 1743