17 Jun 2017


Fabian Coulthard - No. 12 Shell V-Power Racing Ford

Practice – 5th (Fastest Lap: 1m05.8319s - under old lap record)
Qualifying – 3rd (Fastest Lap: 1m05.7755s)Race 11FIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m07.0054s)

RECAP: Coulthard started the race from the second row of the grid. He lost one position early, however quickly got it back. The team elected for an early stop on lap 6, taking two right tyres to put Coulthard in clean air in an attempt to undercut the leaders. It worked, and he took the lead following a lap 23 Safety Car restart. He then controlled the race, to finish four-tenths in front of his teammate. He has extended his Championship lead to 34 points over Jamie Whincup.

QUOTE: “The undercut worked brilliantly today. I had Phil telling me he needed three or four of my best laps, and it worked. We jumped Rick (Kelly) and kept Scott behind me as well. It’s a fantastic day again for the team with another 1-2, and I’m so proud to be a part of this incredible team. To also take the team’s first ever win in the Northern Territory is pretty special – it’s been a great year so far.”

Scott McLaughlin - No. 17 Shell V-Power Racing Ford 

PracticeFIRST (Fastest Lap: 1m05.5635s - New Lap Record)
Qualifying – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m05.7705s)Race 11 – 2nd (Fastest Lap: 1m07.0825s)

RECAP: McLaughlin started from the front row of the grid, holding the position and racing with then leader Rick Kelly. He tried a move around the outside of turn 1 on lap 2, ran wide and dropped to sixth. He then worked his way back through the pack, taking the safety car restart fourth, before quickly climbing to second where he stayed behind teammate Coulthard to complete a 1-2 for the team. He is now third in the Championship, 40 points behind Coulthard. 

QUOTE: “What a great day for the team here in Darwin. I made a bit of a silly error early in the race, and then had to fight back from there. The team gave me a great car, and a great strategy so it was fantastic to be able to deliver another 1-2 to them. Big congrats to Fabs on the win. We’ll have another crack tomorrow and try to do it again."



1 Fabian Coulthard 1210
2 Jamie Whincup 1176
3 Scott McLaughlin 1170
4 Shane van Gisbergen 1023
5 Chaz Mostert 972
6 Mark Winterbottom 861
7 Garth Tander 831
8 Craig Lowndes 822
9 David Reynolds 807
10 Cameron Waters 805



1 Shell V-Power Racing Team 2415
2 Triple Eight Race Engineering (Van Gisbergen/Whincup) 2199
3 Prodrive Racing Australia (Winterbottom/Waters) 1701
4 Garry Rogers Motorsport 1527
5 Erebus Motorsport 1188
6 Brad Jones Racing 1143
7 Nissan Motorsport (R. Kelly/T. Kelly) 1113
8 HSV Racing 1059
9 Nissan NISMO (Caruso/De Silvestro) 1047
10 Prodrive Racing Australia (Mostert) 972